No Coward Soul is Mine (Emily Brontë)

No Coward Soul Is Mine

By Emily Brontë

No coward soul is mine
No trembler in the world’s storm-troubled sphere
I see Heaven’s glories shine
And Faith shines equal arming me from Fear

O God within my breast
Almighty ever-present Deity
Life, that in me hast rest,
As I Undying Life, have power in Thee

Vain are the thousand creeds
That move men’s hearts, unutterably vain,
Worthless as withered weeds
Or idlest froth amid the boundless main

To waken doubt in one
Holding so fast by thy infinity,
So surely anchored on
The steadfast rock of Immortality.

With wide-embracing love
Thy spirit animates eternal years
Pervades and broods above,
Changes, sustains, dissolves, creates and rears

Though earth and moon were gone
And suns and universes ceased to be
And Thou wert left alone
Every Existence would exist in thee

There is not room for Death
Nor atom that his might could render void
Since thou art Being and Breath
And what thou art may never be destroyed.

_____________________________________________________

Dear God,

It is with this reason that I write to You, to declare how steadfast my faith in You and the Heavens always have been and always will be.

My soul is not afraid, nor do I shake or shiver from fear, in this world full of dangers.

I could not fear, due to my faith. I believe in You, I believe in Heaven.

O God, You will always be within me. Your almighty and ever-present divinity is welcome in my soul. With my entire being, I believe in Your Power. I trust You with my life and therefore with my after-life and immortality. As You live within me, I live within You.

Most men value the unutterably foolish, vain and empty statements of believe. These statements are as worthless as withered weeds. Feeble men do not believe in You in the same way that I do. Their faith is like foam of the sea, constantly changing. It is inconsequent and insubstantial, short-lived.

With these untrue statements of false believe, they try to make one doubt, who is so sure of Your power and infinity, who is so surely holding onto the faith in immortality.

With Your love that embraces all, You give us immortal life. From above in the Heavens You see through us and worry over us. You change, sustain, dissolve and create all that is in this world. You look after us.

If this earth and the moon would disappear, if all the suns and universes would cease to be, if the entire material world would perish, and if You were the only thing left: every existence and every soul would still exist within You.

Everything that You created, our entire world with all the land and seas, will never stop being. You, Almighty, are all that is required to live. You are everything that is living. Therefore You are within everything that lives, and everything that lives is within You.

My soul is not afraid of the ending. There is no death, no mortality. There is not anything that could destroy You or Your might. Everything that lives is eternal, since You are eternal. You inhabit those who believe. You are the world’s being and breath, and what You are will never be destroyed.

Knowing this, that Your power is within me, that I am armed with faith, and that I am Your undying life:

No Coward Soul Is Mine.

by Anonymous

Leave a Reply

