No Coward Soul is Mine (Emily Brontë)

No Coward Soul Is Mine

By Emily Brontë

No coward soul is mine
No trembler in the world’s storm-troubled sphere
I see Heaven’s glories shine
And Faith shines equal arming me from Fear

O God within my breast
Almighty ever-present Deity
Life, that in me hast rest,
As I Undying Life, have power in Thee

Vain are the thousand creeds
That move men’s hearts, unutterably vain,
Worthless as withered weeds
Or idlest froth amid the boundless main

To waken doubt in one
Holding so fast by thy infinity,
So surely anchored on
The steadfast rock of Immortality.

With wide-embracing love
Thy spirit animates eternal years
Pervades and broods above,
Changes, sustains, dissolves, creates and rears

Though earth and moon were gone
And suns and universes ceased to be
And Thou wert left alone
Every Existence would exist in thee

There is not room for Death
Nor atom that his might could render void
Since thou art Being and Breath
And what thou art may never be destroyed.

_____________________________________________________

Oh god, my dear god, be merciful to me.
I pray to You all day long, and I will never stop praying. Night and day I pray to You, for days, months, weeks on end. Never will I stop, for I would never want You to think I waver in devotion to You.

Oh god, I’m so thankful for you. I knew I could trust you, and You have shown me that You are my steadfast rock in immortality. Before I was so afraid, afraid of what would come and what death would bring, afraid that I wasn’t strong enough to face my illness.

Oh god, my soul is yours, and so your fearless soul is mine.

Although others are cowardly, I can’t be so because you, ever-present Deity, are by my side. You brought back my faith when I had none. Instead of faith there was fear in my heart, and you have taken it all away, and all that remains is love for you. No longer do I fear death. I know you created the undying life for me and everyone who has faith in you. I will bathe in the eternal glory of your kingdom, as will all of the ones who have been faithful to You. I know we will be rewarded for our adoration towards You. You have made us al infinite. You had created the most beautiful world, which we then proceed to contaminate with our sins. But I won’t be a part of that for much longer. I cannot wait to be with you for eternity, and with that to be forever faithful.

For you have always been there for me, in that same manner I will be there for you, so when my illness has taken me, I will come to you. My prayers and devotedness will even then not stop.
Amen

by Anonymous

Leave a Reply

