I Wandered Lonely as a Cloud (William Wordsworth)

I Wandered Lonely as a Cloud

By William Wordsworth

I wandered lonely as a cloud
That floats on high o’er vales and hills,
When all at once I saw a crowd,
A host, of golden daffodils;
Beside the lake, beneath the trees,
Fluttering and dancing in the breeze.

Continuous as the stars that shine
And twinkle on the milky way,
They stretched in never-ending line
Along the margin of a bay:
Ten thousand saw I at a glance,
Tossing their heads in sprightly dance.

The waves beside them danced; but they
Out-did the sparkling waves in glee:
A poet could not but be gay,
In such a jocund company:
I gazed—and gazed—but little thought
What wealth the show to me had brought:

For oft, when on my couch I lie
In vacant or in pensive mood,
They flash upon that inward eye
Which is the bliss of solitude;
And then my heart with pleasure fills,
And dances with the daffodils.

_____________________________________________________

I was walking lonely, but had no connection with the rest of world. It was as if I was locked out by everybody else. At that moment I saw a field, but it wasn’t just a field, it was a smooth field made of flowers. And not just flowers, but daffodils, and every one of them was shining like a little sun. They were next to the sparkling lake, and under the moving tree. They were all in balance and harmony, swinging in the light spring breeze.

They looked like they were never ending, as the stars in the milky way. It felt like the time stood still, during the perfect sunset under an infinite coastline. There were so much, they were uncountable, there were at least ten thousand of them just on the hill next to the lake. Al of them were wobbling together with the leaves of the tree, as if it was a perfect orchestrated whole.

The field surrounds a lake, which laid there glittering and wrinkled in the sun. The free and fluttering flowers pulled at me, and held me in their grip. The lake on the other hand looked like it was poisoned and has had its time, next to the beautiful daffodils. Although I enjoyed the moment to the fullest, I wasn’t aware how great it was, and that such a moment is all you need in life.

That night, when I lied in my bed, I was wondering and thinking about the day and the freedom of the daffodils. They were forever in my memory captured. This remembrance fills me with such joy, that I never wanted something else. This feeling is all I want in life. This feeling like I am dancing with the daffodils.

by Anonymous

Leave a Reply

