I Wandered Lonely as a Cloud (William Wordsworth)

I Wandered Lonely as a Cloud

By William Wordsworth

I wandered lonely as a cloud
That floats on high o’er vales and hills,
When all at once I saw a crowd,
A host, of golden daffodils;
Beside the lake, beneath the trees,
Fluttering and dancing in the breeze.

Continuous as the stars that shine
And twinkle on the milky way,
They stretched in never-ending line
Along the margin of a bay:
Ten thousand saw I at a glance,
Tossing their heads in sprightly dance.

The waves beside them danced; but they
Out-did the sparkling waves in glee:
A poet could not but be gay,
In such a jocund company:
I gazed—and gazed—but little thought
What wealth the show to me had brought:

For oft, when on my couch I lie
In vacant or in pensive mood,
They flash upon that inward eye
Which is the bliss of solitude;
And then my heart with pleasure fills,
And dances with the daffodils.

_____________________________________________________

Dear diary,

I woke up early in the morning and had no idea what to do, so I decided to go for a walk because I couldn’t stay at home and do nothing. “Some fresh air would satisfy me.” That’s what I thought and left my house.

I was wandering lonely, without any purpose, through the beautiful nature. As lonely as a cloud that is excluded from the rest of the world. Thinking about the meaning of life. The thoughts in my head were as excluded from the world as a cloud. I continued wandering over hills and valleys. Suddenly I saw a group of flowers. I couldn’t stop gazing at them, because they were gleaming. The gold color of the flowers were controlling my eyes. I think these flowers are more than special. They’re called daffodils. I had never seen such flowers before beside the lake and beneath the trees. The wind let them dance, just like humans do. The upper parts of the flowers were moving slowly from the left to the right. The flowers, the daffodils, were as continuous as the stars. They couldn’t stop gleaming and there were so many of them. They stretched in a never-ending line and I guess there were thousands of them. Not only the flowers were beautiful on their own, but the waves of the lake next the flowers were flowing differently compared to a normal lake. It looked like the lake was dancing with the flowers. But no matter what, nothing could beat the beauty of the flowers.

When I had come home, I decided to lie on the couch. My mind was empty and I didn’t feel good. I had no idea what to do. But then, I remembered the daffodils and an image of them flashed through my mind. Immediately I felt better and the loneliness of my mind was kicked out. The image of the daffodils was as real as the reality and I imagined myself dancing, just like the flowers and the waves of the lake.

by Anonymous

 

Leave a Reply

