I Wandered Lonely as a Cloud (William Wordsworth)

I Wandered Lonely as a Cloud

By William Wordsworth

I wandered lonely as a cloud
That floats on high o’er vales and hills,
When all at once I saw a crowd,
A host, of golden daffodils;
Beside the lake, beneath the trees,
Fluttering and dancing in the breeze.

Continuous as the stars that shine
And twinkle on the milky way,
They stretched in never-ending line
Along the margin of a bay:
Ten thousand saw I at a glance,
Tossing their heads in sprightly dance.

The waves beside them danced; but they
Out-did the sparkling waves in glee:
A poet could not but be gay,
In such a jocund company:
I gazed—and gazed—but little thought
What wealth the show to me had brought:

For oft, when on my couch I lie
In vacant or in pensive mood,
They flash upon that inward eye
Which is the bliss of solitude;
And then my heart with pleasure fills,
And dances with the daffodils.

_____________________________________________________

Dear diary,

Today began as a very boring day and again I totally didn’t know what to do.
The holidays started and everyone was gone. That made me feel quite lonely, but then I read
a little article in the newspaper about a national park: Lake District. I had nothing
better to do and I had never been there before. So it seemed like a good plan to go there
today.   Meanwhile I did asked to myself that moment: ‘What am I doing with my life? What’s the meaning of life?’ But then I still took my car and drove to the park.

After I arrived I parked my car and went into the park. I walked along the road without a real
purpose. And then I saw the lake. It was very beautiful and, when I stood there at the shore,
I suddenly saw a group of yellow daffodils. The sun was shining and that made them look
almost golden. Then I had to stand still for a moment to look at the beautiful flowers
underneath a tree. It looked as if angels threw some sunrays over them.

But there still was a little breeze that made the daffodils flutter and dance in the wind. I looked further and I discovered more groups of daffodils along the margin of the lake. It was
an elongated row of daffodils! They were with more than I thought. I couldn’t even see where
the row stopped anymore. It was like watching the night sky, or a beautiful sunrise; There’s so much they hold. They made me so happy that i secretly did a little dance of joy with them.
Like I already said there was a breeze. So it was a very little stormy day. That made the
waves in the lake look like they danced with us. It was a sparkling spectacle. I think that at
that moment there wasn’t even one girl as happy as this one with the cheery flowers as
her company. But did she also realized that when she was there? I was participating just
like the waves in the lake and nothing more. It was only later, when I was back home and I
lay my the couch again, thinking of all myfriends who are on holiday and when the
feeling of loneliness started to come back, that I thought back on the golden daffodils and I
realized how much happiness they had brought to me. I knew what I was doing with
my life and so I stood up from the couch and I danced with those daffodils in my mind.
And as I’m writing this in my diary, I have to smile again.

I’ll see you tomorrow, Diary!

Lots of love,
Dorothy Cloud

by Anonymous

Leave a Reply

